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American Rescue Plan Act  HCBS  Initiative:  

$500 Home Care Worker  Supplemental Payment  

 

Summary  
Nevada  has over 13,000  home care workers, predominately  women  and  disproportionately  minorities,  who  
help  with  daily tasks to older  Nevadans  and  persons with  physical or  intellectual  disabilities  (Sept. 2020  Guinn  
Center  report). During  a  public  listening  session  in  June 2021, Nevada  Medicaid  found  that  home care  
workers were  at  risk  of  contracting  COVID  and  buying their  own  protective equipment. To  assist  this critical  
workforce  on  the  front  lines of  COVID-19, Nevada is  offering a  $500  supplemental payment  to  currently  
employed  home care  workers  employed  as of  November  1, 2021.  Only  employers may apply  for  payments  
on  behalf  of  employees  and  participation is voluntary.  

 
Direct  Home  Care Worker  Supplemental  Payment  
• Who  qualifies  - Home care  workers with  a  valid  National  Provider  Identification (NPI)  number  employed 

by  the following  types of  enrolled  Medicaid  providers: 
o Personal  Care  Services (PCS) agency, Intermediary Service Organization, or  participant-directed 

model. 
o Those  who provided  PCS  or  certain  Waiver services (attendant  care, homemaker, chore, respite, 

or  supported  living  arrangement  services).  

• What  - A  one-time  supplemental payment  of  $500  to each eligible  worker.  

• When  - For  eligible workers currently  employed  as of  November  1, 2021.  

• How  - The $500 payment  will be electronically  issued  to the worker’s employer. The employer  must  pay 

the  worker  within  30  days of  receipt  of  supplemental payment  from  Medicaid. 

 
How to Apply  for  the  Supplemental  Payment  
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For more information: AmericanRescuePlan@dhcfp.nv.gov

• Who - Any interested Medicaid provider enrolled as a Provider Type 30, 38, 48, 58, or 83 may apply.

• How- Complete one application for your organization and attach a roster of all the employees for which 
a supplemental payment is requested.

o The employee roster is preferred in excel and must include the employee information requested 
in the application.

o Submit the application and employee roster to AmericanRescuePlan@dhcfp.nv.gov with the 
Subject Line “Home Care Worker Supplemental Payment.”

o Nevada Medicaid will review the application and validate the employees submitted by each 
provider, including their NPI.

• When- Applications will be accepted starting December 13, 2021 through January 14, 2022:

o Once Nevada Medicaid validates the application and employee roster (2-3-week process), the 
approved provider will receive an email confirming the employees who were determined eligible 
to receive the $500 supplemental payment.

o Lump-sum electronic payments will be issued to the approved provider before the end of March 
2022.

Questions can  be directed to  AmericanRescuePlan@dhcfp.nv.gov.  Nevada  Medicaid  cannot  answer  tax-

related questions.  
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